Wednesday 13 February 2019

#BlogTour The Shape of Lies by Rachel Abbott

It's a pleasure to take part in the BlogTour The Shape of Lies by Rachel Abbott. It's a psychological thriller, a police procedural and a story about family.

Follow the BlogTour to take part in The Shape of Truth or Lies game to win a signed copy of The Shape of Lies.
How to play: Each day of the tour, a post will share two big lies and one absolute truth about Rachel. Can you detect the Truth? Follow the blog tour to collect all the truths and enter a prize draw. Email all seven truths to

The competition starts here at and links to the next part of the competition on randomthingsthroughmyletterbox and so on. Enjoy all the blogs and reviews along the way and good luck!

'Author of one of 2018’s Times crime books of the year, Rachel Abbott, the UK’s no.1 bestselling independent author, proves once again why she is ‘the queen of psychological thrillers’ with an intense and compelling examination of the toxic impact of lies, deception and guilt.'

About the Author
Rachel Abbott, born and raised in Manchester, founded her own interactive media company in the 1980s, before selling it and retiring in 2005. She then moved to Italy where she worked on the renovation of a 15th century Italian monastery, and it was here that, one day, she found herself snowed in and decided to begin writing for pleasure. This became her debut novel, Only The Innocent, which she went on to publish via Kindle Direct Publishing, topping their chart for 4 weeks.

A true self-publishing pioneer, The Shape of Lies is Abbott’s ninth novel. She splits her time between Alderney in the Channel Islands and Italy.

Follow @RachelAbbott on Twitter, on Facebook
Visit and

About the book
In The Shape of Lies, Abbott’s ninth novel, respectable mother, wife and head teacher, Anna Franklyn, is driving to work when a voice on her favourite radio phone-in programme shatters every hope that she has escaped her dark past. The caller on ‘The One That Got Away’ claims to be her ex-lover, Scott, and in less than a week, he will expose her truth on air. But how is that possible when Scott is dead?

Meanwhile, Abbott’s much-loved detective, Tom Douglas, needs to find the killer responsible for two brutal murders and unravel Anna’s web of lies to discover what connects her to both bodies.

Can you ever outrun your past? Is it possible to just reinvent yourself, have an entirely different life and leave your attempts at the first one behind? Anna thought it was possible until her former life decided to come knocking at her door one day.

She has a husband, two kids, a high-powered job and a comfortable life. Then she hears a voice from the past on the radio. The voice of a man she left behind a long time ago. The voice of a dead man. This revelation leads Anna even further down the tight rabbit hole she is already stuck in.

The charm of the DCI Tom Douglas books is the way the author mixes the personal life of the DCI with the story at hand. Storylines from other books in the series flow into each book, so the reader always has a personal insight into the life and problems of Douglas. At this point it feels like we are part of his extended family, always on the outside looking in on his life.

The title describes the motive perfectly. We all lie. White lies, lying by omission, lies to make sure you don't hurt someone's feelings and of course the really bad black lies. If a lie can change the way the rest of your life may evolve then perhaps it's better to protect the lie, right? Unless of course protecting the lie means dismantling the safe life you spent so long building.

It's a psychological thriller, a police procedural and a story about family. The tension is ripped back and forth like a loose live wire, as the reader is drawn back and forth from the past to the present. The author balances and melds both storylines perfectly to create a captivating read. Oh, and kudos to Abbott for the ending, it was completely unexpected. Nice touch.

Buy The Shape of Lies (DCI Tom Douglas #8) at Amazon Uk or go to Goodreads for any other retailer. Publisher: Black Dot Publishing Ltd; pub date 12 Feb. 2019. Buy at Amazon com

No comments:

Post a Comment