Saturday, 9 February 2019

#BlogTour Remember Me by D.E. White


Today it's my turn on the BlogTour Remember Me by D.E. White. It's a psychological thriller with a vicious sting and a terrible secret.

About the Author
D E White started writing fifteen years ago, scribbling ideas on napkins at work on the night shift. After various jobs, including working as cabin crew, in a hospital, a supermarket, and as a 999 call handler for the ambulance service, she began writing full time in 2018. She is a multi-award winning entrepreneur, and was part of a small business delegation speaking at Number 10, Downing Street in 2015. Having spent a lot of time travelling the world, she now lives with her husband and two sons on the south coast of the UK, with a growing assortment of animals and several stick insects.

Follow @DEWhiteAuthor @HQDigitalUK @HQStories on Twitter,
Visit daisywhiteauthor.co.uk
Buy Remember Me


About the book
Fifteen years ago Ellen Smith vanished from the woods near her small Welsh village. Never to be seen again. Eight people were in the woods that night: eight splintered lives, eight people hiding a terrible secret. But who can remember the truth?

Now, Ellen’s best friend, Detective Ava Cole is all grown up back in the village where it all began, and everyone is asking the same question. What really happened to Ellen?

Filled with shocking discoveries and traumatic memories this fast paced thriller is perfect for fans of Friend Request and Close to Home.
Review
In the midst of this vicious game of murder, pain and self-gratification the author has incorporated an important aspect of women's mental health as part of the plot. It is done in a way that ensures the reader has to wade through the a bunch of twists and lies to perhaps recognise what it is. I actually think it was a smart move because in a real life scenario it is often mistaken for other issues or swept under the rug.

I am talking about the postpartum depression that turned Ava's life upside down and changed the direction of her life and that of her son. It has taken her many years to come to terms with why she was so overwhelmed after the birth of her child. She had no support from Paul and his family, who were only too happy to promote the myth that she was a bad mother with no interest in raising a child. They certainly had no problem alienating mother and child from each other.

Ava has been called back to the roost by the man who hates her with a passion for leaving him in the first place. A man with a penchant for controlling behaviour and an abusive personality. All of that pales in comparison to the crime of abandoning a child though, right? Now he wants Ava back in the fold to help raise and support their child and his new wife.

Simultaneously Ava has to deal with someone who is threatening to reveal not just her secrets, but also the secrets of her group of friends. Many years ago they were all involved in the disappearance of their friend Ellen.

Only one person knows the whole truth and they are doing their best to manipulate the situation and get rid of any threats to their existence. It's the cat and mouse game that makes this a vindictive play for power and revenge, although perhaps revenge is the wrong word, because this perpetrator has a passion for pain.

It's a psychological thriller with a vicious sting and a terrible secret. The nefarious personality of the culprit and the insidious nature of the plot is what makes this a riveting read.

Buy Remember Me at Amazon Uk or go to Goodreads for any other retailer. Publisher: HQ Digital; Kindle pub date 6 Feb. 2019, Paperback pub date April 2019


No comments:

Post a comment